Day 1

As I stepped off the plane, I walked into this very well designed, and high quality airport. It was quite surprising honestly. The temperature today is about 86 degrees. A little hot for me coming from Seattle, but it feels good at the same time. Already I’m getting an amazing sense of the culture here. I see people running to catch their next flight, and I smell the food. At which point, my stomach growls. Time for a snack. Originally I would’ve gone for just some pita bread and hummus, but I decided to be a little more adventurous. After all. This isn’t just a vacation. It’s for political reasons. After wandering around the airport a little longer, I settle for Kubbah. It’s rice patties stuffed with mince meat and sauteéd onion. I think I could eat 12. But I finish my one serving and continue onward. Before I left, I saw that Erbil, the capital of Iraqi Kurdistan, contains one of the oldest citadels in the world. Dating back to 6000 B.C. I had to visit this site. It’s a big part of this city covering 110 kilometers. There are 506 dwellings inside the citadel. It’s really quite a sight. The whole thing is raised up on this 25 meter tall hill. Right in the middle of the city. I’m beginning to get more and more excited for this trip. I can tell it’s got lots to offer.

IMG_0651

This is a map of the citadel at the center of the city. I chose to include it because this is the main topic of my post. In it there are 3 sectors, and 506 dwellings.

Here is a video that talks about the Citadel becoming a UN heritage site:

 

Leave a Reply

