Textured and Non-Textured Metal

imageimageimageimageimageimage

In this project, I created the logo of the BMW M division using a 1×2″ piece of copper with glass enameled onto it using a kiln. First, I sketched the logo onto graph paper, and then cut it out to use it as a stencil for the sawing portion. I cut the triangular sections out of the M, and one more section the make the diagonal section at the back. Next, I sanded everything down to make it smooth. Then I drilled a small hole in the end so I could make it a keychain. After that, I began the enameling process. I started with a solid white layer on either side. Next, I marked where each of the sections of color would go, and began those. The colors took a few more layers than the white. Probably because the white melted down again, and showed through the colored layers. After I went over the colors a few more times, until it was relatively solid. The problems with this project were that the white base layer kept showing through the colors. This was a problem because this piece was supposed to be as exact as possible. If I were to do anything differently, I would change the colors a little bit, and make sure that the colored sections are more even. My piece’s strengths are its bright colors, and the unintentional black outline that it has to it.

Leave a Reply

